Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
2018-2019 Executive Committee Slate

STAT executive committee election

The Science Teachers Association of Texas (STAT) Nominating Committee met March 26 to determine candidates for open positions on the STAT Executive Committee. The nine-member Executive Committee is STAT’s governing body and provides strategic, programmatic, and financial direction and oversight for the association. Together, these leaders work to guide STAT in our mission to build a vibrant community of science educators.


The Nominating Committee was tasked with determining and recommending not only an outstanding candidate(s) for each open position, but also with ensuring that the collective EC body is balanced and appropriately representative of the entire STAT community (geography, position, experience, etc.)


This year’s nominations process drew tremendous interest, demonstrating the passion and dedication of the Texas science education community. In particular, a record number of members were nominated for open Member-at-Large positions.



STAT members will have the opportunity to vote online through a unique link that will be emailed April 5. Voting ends at noon April 19. Election results will be announced April 20.


On the ballot, members will be asked to:

  • Indicate their acceptance of the slate for the offices of President-Elect, Vice President and Secretary.
  • Vote for up to two candidates to serve as Member-at-Large.

slated candidates for election

The STAT Nominating Committee is pleased to announce the slate of candidates for new officers and finalists for the two (2) open Member-at-Large positions. Click on the name of each candidate to review his or her profile and position statement. 

2018-2019 STAT Executive Committee NEW POSITIONS

Officer Candidates

President-Elect: Linda Schaake, Brady ISD - First year of a three-year presidential succession term

Vice President: Melissa Gable, Crosby ISD - One-year term

Secretary: Jennifer Meyer, Leander ISD -Two-year term


The Nominating Committee is bringing forward six (6) finalists from the nominee pool so the STAT membership may elect two (2) Members-at-Large. Note: Names are listed in order determined by random draw.

continuing terms

  • 2018-2019 President Terry White, Spring Branch ISD, Houston
  • 2018-2019 Past President Laura Lee McLeod, Frisco ISD
  • Treasurer Kara Swindell, Lubbock ISD (term expires 2018-2019)
  • Member-at-Large Gianna Colson, La Feria ISD (term expires 2018-2019)

Additional Information


Immediate Past President George Hademenos, Chair, Richardson ISD (Region 10)

Kiki Corry, Texas Parks & Wildlife Department (Region 13)

Ross Ann Hill, Idalou ISD (Region 17)

Kayla Pearce, Eagle Mountain-Saginaw ISD (Region 11)

Xavier Wooten, Houston ISD (Region 4) 

The Science Teachers Association of Texas



Copyright © 2017 STAT. All Rights Reserved. 401 W. 15th Street, Suite 695, Austin, TX 78701  P: 512-505-8001

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal