2019-2020 STAT Executive Board Slate

The Science Teachers Association of Texas (STAT) Nominating Committee has selected the following candidates to serve on the 2019-2020 STAT Executive Board. Per the STAT Bylaws and policy, the committee is charged with the task of thoroughly reviewing all applications for service on the STAT Executive Board and determining a slate of candidates based on experience, background, and diversity of candidates and composition of the Board.

Congratulations to the 2019-2020 Executive Board Slate!

Learn more about the slated candidates.

Kara Swindell
Classroom Teacher
Lubbock ISD (Region 17)
Term: 3-year progression

Gianna Lopez Colson
Classroom Teacher 
La Feria ISD (Region 1) 
2-year term, ends 2021

Leslie Harvey
Classroom Teacher
Eagle Mountain-Saginaw ISD (Region 11)
2-year term, ends 2021


Charles Zemanek
Classroom Teacher/Department Head
Nacogdoches ISD (Region 7)
2-year term, ends 2021

If elected by acclamation, these slated candidates will join continuing 2019-2020 Executive Board members President Linda Schaake, Past President Terry White, Secretary Jennifer Meyer, and Members-at-Large Matthew Cushing and Jeanette Escobar.

In accordance with the STAT Bylaws, 15 days shall be allowed following the slate announcement for any STAT member in good standing to self-declare for a position on the STAT Executive Board through the written petition of 1 percent of the current STAT membership.

In order to self-declare in this election cycle, a member must submit a letter to the STAT Nominating Committee Chair that is received in the STAT office no later than Wednesday, April 3, 2019. This letter must be accompanied by a completed electronic Self-Declared Candidate Application and 44 letters of endorsement from current, active STAT members. If any member successfully self-declares for an open Executive Board position, the position will then become contested, and the process for resolving a contested election will be implemented. If no office or position is contested by self-declared individuals, at the close of the posted time the election will be deemed final, and the nominated slate will be accepted as duly elected by consensus of the voting members of STAT.

Learn more about the nomination/election process
Learn more about the current STAT Executive Board