Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register



Like all of you, STAT leadership has been watching with heavy hearts the devastation Hurricane Harvey has brought to the Texas Gulf Coast and Southeast Texas.


We have received several inquiries regarding our upcoming conference in Houston. We want to confirm STAT is moving forward with plans to hold CAST 2017 in Houston, November 9-11. Staff has been in direct contact with representatives from the city of Houston and have confirmed that all facilities being utilized by STAT for CAST 2017 (George R. Brown Convention Center, Hilton Americas, Marriott Marquis, and Doubletree) are currently, and expect to continue to be, fully operational. None of the venues have sustained damage and are preparing to host other conferences and events that were scheduled to occur in the coming days. We will closely monitor the situation and will provide updates, if necessary.


Now, more than ever, this region of Texas needs our support as they work to rebuild and recover from this catastrophic event. STAT looks forward to supporting Greater Houston and the community any way we can after the storm and in recovery efforts.




For our members in affected areas who are facing unimaginable challenges, please know that your science community stands with you and will be working to support you in the coming days, weeks and months. STAT is committed to helping our members and Texas families as they face the arduous process of recovery and rebuilding.


The STAT Executive Board has approved a $10,000 donation to the Red Cross on behalf of our members to immediately support Texas Gulf Coast and Southeast Texas communities. Additionally, STAT will be seeking ways our association can support recovery efforts in affected areas, including opportunities to assist while we are in Houston in November.

To learn more about how you can provide assistance and support to others during this time of recovery, please click here.



Each year thousands of science teachers across the state of Texas come together to learn and advance science teaching at STAT's premiere event – the Conference for the Advancement of Science Teaching (CAST). Just as the Sun's gravity keeps the Earth in perfect orbit, our conference keeps the future of science teaching revolving around the success of our students.

Join us November 9-11th in Houston for CAST 2017: Houston, We Have a Solution!

Registration for CAST 2017 is Now Open

STAT is excited to announce that registration for CAST 2017 is now open. Please click here to register! Be there to experience and learn from all of the amazing workshops, short courses, and exhibits that will help you capture your students' attention and forge their passion for science! 


Registration Fees

Early Bird Full Conference Registration (Registration and Payment before October 15, 2017): $135

Regular Full Conference Registration (Registration and Payment after October 15, 2017): $185



All hotel rooms booked through STAT's reservation website are guaranteed to be in walking distance or will have transportation provided to the George R Brown Convention Center. Hotel rooms for CAST may be reserved online here.


The official housing company for CAST 2017 is the Greater Houston Convention and Visitors Bureau. This is the only official entity authorized to arrange hotel reservations for attendees.

Sign In
Sign In securely

CAST Sponsors

Calendar more

11/9/2017 » 11/11/2017
CAST 2017

11/1/2018 » 11/3/2018
CAST 2018

The Science Teachers Association of Texas



Copyright © 2017 STAT.  All Rights Reserved. 401 W. 15th Street, Suite 695 P: 512-505-8001


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal